Ever since I accidentally discovered bacon jam a few weeks ago, I have been plagued by two recurring, and arguably very unfortunate, obsessions. The first is that I have been furiously researching bacon jam recipes across the Interwebs with the intent of actually trying my crude hand at creating such a gourmet masterpiece. The second is that, no matter how hard I try, I cannot get the mid-1980s rap-synth hit Jam On It out of my head.

For those of you who are too young (or old) to remember the influential role Newcleus played, don’t feel badly. It was an awkward cultural period marked by too much hair spray, the ridiculous concept of women’s shoulder pads, and an explosion of synthetic fabrics. But as far as music and dance history goes, neither electro-hip-pop nor b-boying would have evolved as it did without Nucleus’ single-song contribution.

So why has the idea of bacon jam been the Freudian trigger to roust my junior-high subconscious from its luxurious slumber?

Like a Burger King with a sack of Big Macs
We’re throwin’ down with the radical sacks

Hmmm……bacon, Jam On It, 1984, breaking…….it started to come clear to me…..

You gotta funk it up until it knocks you down
And when you’re funkin’ up, be sure to pass it around
Come on, let’s go to work

What we needed around here was some action – we at P&P have spent too much time lately chit-chatting – it was time to jam on it ourselves. Time to pull out the cardboard mat, throw it on the floor, pop the tape in the ghetto blaster, and watch the b-boys go at it.

So by the power vested in me, I issue the first Pigs & Pours challenge to my fellow b(acon)-boys / ladies and to our readership at large.  Pick your bacon. Pick your recipe. And jam on it!  To get this party started, I have grabbed Harris Teeter Crazy Thick bacon, my crockpot, and, in the spirit of all things pigs AND pours, a Bourbon Bacon Jam recipe.  There is an official Jam On (wikki wikki wikki wikki) Sunday night at our place.  Winners lauded, and losers shamed right here first thing Monday morning.